Pride and Prejudice Icons

In my sister blog ritaLOVEStoWRITE.com  did  a series of character studies in the week leading up to Pride and Prejudice’s 200th anniversary on Jan. 28th. I thought I’d share the silhouette icons I made on this site.Happy 200th P&PI adapted the scanned in the silhouettes from Silhouettes A Pictorial Archive of Varied Illustrations by Carol Belanger Grafton  (a Dover Publication). Then I worked with them in Photoshop,  adapting them so they represented each P&P major character.

Mary & Kitty 1Mary and Kitty was my first Character study and I really liked the touch of negative space in Mary’s glasses, so I decided to add that to the following silos. Kitty gets a ruffled collar in the final collage.  Mary and Kitty are the two least defined sisters, so I kept their silos simple and little humble.

Lady Cath and CaroLady Cather and Caroline are both pompous creatures so I gave them lots of plumage in their head-gear. (Something I had to moderate when I did the collage for the final post — see the last image.)

Charlotte & CollinsCharlotte and Collins need to show contrast. Charlotte is sensible and modest with her simple hairstyle and respectable bow. Collins is silly and talkative. He couldn’t even keep his mouth shut while his likeness was being captured. I love her downcast glaze and the hint of a clerical collar at his neck.

Mr. and Mrs. BennetI admit… Mr. and Mrs. Bennet were a bit of challenge. I kept making Mr. Bennet look too much like George Washington!

PrintLydia and Wickham needed to be young and flirty (I love her little hat pin and feathers). He’s dashing in his uniform, she’s pert and pretty.

BINGLEY AND JANEAwww… Bingley and Jane. What’s not to love. The challenge here was making Jane beautiful, but reserved (almost distant) and not as interesting as Lizzie.

LIZZIE AND DARCYLizzie and Darcy. Here I tried to show both tension and attraction. I think Lizzie definitely has sass in this silo. I love how she’s leaning into him, ready to challenge his notion of a perfect woman.

And put them all together and you get…PRIDE AND PREJUDICE SILO COLLAGE

 

What do you think?

About ritalovestowrite

Freelance writer, graphic designer, musician, foodie and Jane Austen enthusiast in Northern Baltimore County, Maryland. As a writer I enjoy both fiction and non fiction (food, travel and local interest stories.) As an advocate for the ARTS, one of my biggest passions is helping young people find a voice in all the performing arts. To that end it has been my honor to give one-on-one lessons to elementary, middle and high school students in graphic design and music. And as JANE-O I currently serve as the regional coordinator for JASNA Maryland and am working on a Regency/Federal cooking project. View all posts by ritalovestowrite

10 responses to “Pride and Prejudice Icons

  • Lynn Reynolds

    These are very cool. I like how lavish the hats are for Lady Catherine and Caroline.

  • ritalovestowrite

    Thanks! I liked how the hats allowed me to play with the characters. My favorite it Lydia’s hat with its very silly pin and feathers. I also really like the touch of negative (in this case white) space… the little bow at the back of Caroline’s neck, Mr. Collin’s clerical collar, Wickham’s epilet, and especial the tiny flower in Lizzie’s hair.

  • vvb

    I love these! Is it alright if I post some on my blog (with credits to you)?
    It would be for my Pemberley Ball virtual book event.
    http://vvb32reads.blogspot.com/2014/10/pemberley-ball-2014-next-month.html
    Cheers,
    vvb

  • annmariethomaspaintings

    I love your Jane Austen design work! I’m working on the JASNA AGM 2017 logo and logotype and am inspired by your 2016 Emma design.

    • ritalovestowrite

      I can’t wait to see what you come up with for 2017! What city is hosting that AGM?

      • annmariethomaspaintings

        Hi, Rita,
        The AGM is in Los Angeles–actually in Orange County in Huntington Beach. I live in the area and am doing the design work on a volunteer basis. The theme is “Jane Austen in Paradise” with the double meaning of the beach local and the 200th anniversary of her death. I’m waiting to hear which logo they choose from the third round of designs. I’m hoping it is one I designed rather than one they “helped” me design:)

  • annmariethomaspaintings

    How did you create the silhouettes of the P&P characters? Illustrator? You really caught their personalities!

    • ritalovestowrite

      Thanks Ann Marie! I did all my illustration work in Illustrator. For most of those silos I started with a Dover Art silhouette book and then adapted them. So for those it was research and refinement. But I’ve also done silos where I’ve taken a photo of some one in profile using high contrast lighting, mucked with it in Photoshop to knock out the back ground, then brought it into Illustrator to refine it. BEST OF LUCK with your logo! Cheers, Rita

  • annmariethomaspaintings

    Thanks Ann Marie! I did all my illustration work in Illustrator. For most of those silos I started with a Dover Art silhouette book and then adapted them. So for those it was research and refinement. But I’ve also done silos where I’ve taken a photo of some one in profile using high contrast lighting, mucked with it in Photoshop to knock out the back ground, then brought it into Illustrator to refine it. BEST OF LUCK with your logo! Cheers, Rita

Leave a Reply

